Game 44: Pre-Game Notes

6:55 PM — Matt Vokes out, Myles Stoesz in.

6:35 PM — ‘Tis indeed Hutchinson and Connelly between the pipes. 

6:10 PM — Mentioned this on Twitter, but never here…Trenton got a little love on the NHL Devils broadcast the other night.

3:50 PM — Coming at you live from Sun National Bank Center in Trenton, New Jersey…where some sort of high school tournament is coming to a close. 

I got to cover the Princeton Tigers over at Hobey Baker Rink for the first time yesterday for the Times Union up in Albany…was nice to see a few familiar faces from Trenton over there as well.  Got to chat a bit with one of my favorite Devils people, Matt Conti.  Conti, who long served as an emergency backup goaltender here, is now behind the bench in Princeton as head of equipment.

Was also nice to meet Kelly Zajac, who bailed me out by scoring the game-winning goal to give my story a lead…Kelly’s the brother of Darcy Zajac — and no, I didn’t get paid to drop “Trenton Devils” in a college hockey story — and has occasionally checked out the blog.  I promise, Kelly, if guys are pummeling the crap out of each other in Trenton uniforms…I’ll have the video to prove it.

All right, that stuff aside…there’s not a whole lot going on for the Trenton side of things.  Every day I look at the ECHL Transactions report that come to my inbox and hope maybe some sort of trade is coming to change things up…but I’m always disappointed.  Meanwhile, Reading’s actually made three moves…the Royals have received forward Richard Greenop from the Toronto Marlies and lost forwards Ben Gordon and Casey Haines to Rochester and Lake Erie, respectively.

As you also may have seen, Elmira sent defenseman Jody Pederson to Stockton to complete that deal for goaltender Garrett Zemlak, so they have in fact received a much, much needed upgrade between the pipes.

Today’s a Trentonian day for me, so in-game stuff will be limited to video and Twitter and so on…but you may obviously talk amongst yourselves on here and I’ll try to make a cameo in the comments when I can as well. 

I’d suspect Michael Hutchinson makes his SNBC debut in goal for the Royals tonight, while Shane Connelly gets the nod for Trenton.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

21 Responses to “Game 44: Pre-Game Notes”

  1. Titans04 Says:

    No reasonable GM would break up this kind of chemistry. You don’t mess with success. Devils minor league hockey 101.

  2. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Ah, if Hutchinson is in goal I’m sure I’ll be hearing about it all night especially if he shuts us down.

    They almost write themselves now. Early lead, go into a shell, lose the lead, fall apart. Read an article with Dean saying he’s going to push them to stay more aggressive with a lead; we’ll see how that works.

    Not expecting much different, sadly. As said more than once….prove me wrong boys. Please. I’d like nothing better than to look like a total prat.

  3. Titans04 Says:

    Same here.

    Probably a further indication though that the Devils couldn’t care less about wins and loses at least in the past they made some moves to try and turn things around as the season was swirling down the drain. However that’s been replaced with the status quo mentality. I would have though it was virtually impossible for any team to go this far into a season have won back to back games in regulation once.

  4. Langhorne Devil Says:

    That’s it. Trenton “breaking records every day!” devils

  5. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Looks like voles gets a rest and myles is back in.

  6. chiarams Says:

    I think you mean…Trenton “broken record every game!” Devils.

  7. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Don’t you love autocorrect. Vokes of course -although small rodents may perform better than them at the moment.

  8. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Chiarams, yeah that works too.

    Please trenton prove us all wrong.

  9. tdevils Says:

    Not particularly sure what world that’s five minutes for fighting in…should have been 2 and 2.

  10. njdnhlfan Says:

    Vokes in last night after not playing all year, then out tonight? What gives? Did he play bad? Had no points and was minus?

  11. tdevils Says:

    And what does Berube get there…2 for not dropping the gloves?

    And no idea with Vokes…probably just dont want to rush him back.

  12. Titans04 Says:

    Thoughts on what happens to Southern? Thank god reading didn’t get six shots that period, we’d down 3-2.

  13. trentondevilsfan Says:

    I love Ross. otherwise, about normal. I can see this one going bad.

  14. Langhorne Devil Says:

    2 mins from being the best period of the season. Then sieve steps up to destroy it

  15. Titans04 Says:

    That’s exactly how I saw it too. I’m it will be classified as a weird goal.

    Odds anybody steps up to Wild regardless if it was clean or not, I was looking away so I couldn’t tell.

    Hope I’m dead wrong but I’m betting between slim and none.

  16. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Kinda sad, 3-2 lead after two and I have zero confidence they can hold it. So prove me wrong, give me a solid third please.

  17. Langhorne Devil Says:

    I think tdf has said what we are all thinking

  18. tdevils Says:

    Via Devils PR, Southorn will not return. Jaw injury.

  19. trentondevilsfan Says:

    I love the taste of crow in the evening. I only wish I had to eat it more often. nice job by the boys in putting this away. and I still love Ross’ goal.

  20. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Well Done Devs – now Tomorrow!

  21. Titans04 Says:

    Solid effort which was most appreciated. Ross wasn’t taking any chances on Hutchinson making that save he slammed it past him. Maybe next time he can go top shelf. The tool with the orange strip missed a good game. I wonder if they have to go with 5 D tomorrow and dressing t Vokes.

    Any idea who was wearing 27 tonight for most of the game?

Leave a Reply

