Updating The Charleston Story…

I have been in contact with both the ECHL and Trenton Devils in regards to Dan Charleston’s suspension.

Trenton will have no comment until a statement is put out.  I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s no statement at all, but I’m clearly not an authority on what and what not to be surprised by…as I’m still a little surprised Charleston felt the wrath of the league at all.  Not saying it wasn’t warranted, mind you.  Just saying it wouldn’t have been surprising to me if nothing happened.

But I think that comments from Charleston and/or the organization — an apology or whatever else they may be — would go a long way here. 

The ECHL, per league policy, does not comment on suspensions.  While the league does not have records of longest suspensions for each franchise, they did provide the list of longest suspensions in league history.  As you can see, Charleston’s is nowhere close.

51 – Gary Coupal, Columbus, 1996-97
42 – Jason Taylor, Columbus, 1991-92
36 – Dennis Mullen, Mobile, 2000-01
36 – Chris Slater, Toledo, 2001-02
35 – Justin McPolin, Jacksonville, 1998-99

Coupal’s was apparently for a stick-swinging incident if my research is correct…which would make sense considering said research shows he got thrown out of basically every league he ever played in.  If anyone wants to fill in the blanks with the others, go for it.

As for Charleston, and I suspect he won’t be made available to me or the rest of the media any time soon, he made a mistake and is being punished for it.  I would have to give him the benefit of the doubt that “Man, I sure am tired of this losing, let me pump one into row 12, that’ll show em'” didn’t cross his mind.  And, looking at how silly that sounds…I’d hope you guys would do the same. 

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

19 Responses to “Updating The Charleston Story…”

  1. titans04 Says:

    Kevin made a couple comments during the SC trip that maybe Charleston was chirpping to much on the ice and as a result had become a target for the referees. He said he didn’t see it but that didnt mean it wasn’t happening. Basically said he walked a thin line and needed to not cross it.

    Not to sound too much like a pollyanna but people that drink to much and get behind the wheel don’t say hell let me go out and run somebody over either. But when an accident happens there are stiff consequences.

    Nobody here (I don’t think) feels that he had any intention on firing the puck into the crowd. Just like drunks don’t plan on getting into an accident. BUT he did and he maybe a hell of a nice guy but he screwed up royally and was punished for it – fairly imo. If I’m that mom or worse yet he drilled somebody in my family I would be out for blood. I’m sure he’s a great kid who means well but to me there’s absolutely no excuse for what he did. Somebody on another board is supposed to be grabbing the video of it, I think if you see it you can appreciate just how bad it was.

    Also I wonder if the Devils are trying to appeal the length of it. They can hide behind that for a day or two when it comes to not addressing it. Although him being hurt for the next 11 games wouldn’t surprise.

    We can’t even get to .500 with the guy and this is only going to make reaching the playoffs even more of a pipe dream.

    OT – Kevin when handing out grades tonight gave the defense as a whole a “D” kudos for that.

  2. tdevils Says:

    I’ve had people suggest the reason he got suspended for as long as he did was because the league must have felt there was intent. So that’s why I wrote what I did.

    And, uhhh…that really puts the “D” into defense…amiright or amiright? Tough room.

  3. chiarams Says:

    Taylor – 42 games for two handing a guy in the face and breaking his jaw in 7 places

    Mullen – 36 games for throwing his helmet into the stands

    Slater – 36 games for going after a fan in his own building, ironically in a game against Trenton

    McPolin – 35 games for punching and trying to headbutt a linesman

    Have to say, 12 games seems a bit harsh.

  4. chiarams Says:

    Video here:

  5. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Well it is what it is.

    We had a great view of the whole thing, and I still maintain that he was frustrated that time ran out. He was all alone there and another couple seconds and he’s got a great opportunity to win the game. I think it’s crazy to say he intended on firing the puck into the stands. IMO he intended to fire it down the ice and didn’t mean to lift it. He clearly paused a second before slamming the puck, so he thought about it. We’ve all seen instances where a guy drills someone but the other guy doesn’t get hurt and little or nothing happens, and a similar hit resulting in an injury nets a suspension. I think the fact that someone in the stands got hurt has a lot to do with this. He’s a talented kid and folks have done a lot worse so hopefully all involved can use this as a learning experience and move on.

  6. chiarams Says:

    Oh I don’t think he intended to do it at all, but even if he doesn’t lift it – why is he shooting at his own goalie?

    What happens if Connolly isn’t paying attention and takes a puck to the head? Then the T-Devs have zero goalies and are even more screwed than they already are.

    This was a bonehead move and unfortunately actions have consequences.

  7. titans04 Says:

    Thanks Mike. I understand where your coming from now. No way in he’ll do I think he did it intentionally.

    Just a bad deal all around. It will be interesting to see what plays out the Devils have shown no tolerance for stuff like this dealing P. Cormier and burying LeBlond in Albany.

    Nice work Chiarams digging up the details on the other suspensions.

  8. john Says:

    Charleston shot the puck out of frustration of himself. He didnt know the puck was going to lift that high. Either way he did in fact lift it and it did in fact hit a woman. A friend who knows the woman said he did call immediatley after the game and appologize to the woman. Of course there are consequences, but this is a little extreme. If all that i heard is true, then this is a little extreme.

  9. titans04 Says:

    “fired the puck down the ice”

    Interesting way to describle it for sure.

  10. ForeverTitans Says:

    I agree that it is very harsh, but it’s hard to argue with. You have to be able to control your emotions on a play like that. Break your stick, punch the glass (like your coach for example, he does a solid job of it), but you can’t fire the puck after the whistle has blown. I take the risk of bringing my 2 year old and newborn to the games knowing that a play could result in them being injured. It’s a risk that I knowingly take in order for us to have a good time. I always pay attention when the play is going, but I sure might look away after the horn has sounded. However, if one of my kids was injured on a play like that, I can’t imagine how I would react. I hope everyone has learned an important lesson on this one!

  11. byron Says:

    sure, that all makes sense. But luckily in this case no one did get hurt and im sure the devils will now be more conscious of thier actions in the future because of this. So it will probably end up being the safest place in the end. I feel bad for the guy. Im sure he learned his lesson. geeze a little intense of a punishment. No need for people to be so harsh.

  12. Bradley Says:

    I just saw that he was suspended and am very surprised of the extreme duration of the ruling.

  13. byron Says:

    a couple games yeah, but this is getting blown wayy out of proportion in my opinion. Hes a good player and we need him.

  14. chiarams Says:

    I should’ve added – on McPolin, things didn’t get much better for him after his suspension:
    http://www.torontosun.com/news/canada/2010/12/03/16421106.html

  15. chiarams Says:

    Sorry for the multiple posts, but it’s also worth noting that Brandon Sugden was banned from the ECHL for life in 2001 for throwing his stick into the crowd and hitting a fan.

  16. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Nice research chiarams. Maybe chuckie got off lightly.

    I need to do some research of my own into DC’s penalty history.

    If he has a pretty clean record it may have been good for echl to give him a suspended penalty. I.e. 12 game ban – 4 to be served now and 8 to be tagged on to any additional penalty of this nature.

  17. chiarams Says:

    I wouldn’t say he got off lightly, but given the precedents set, I don’t think 12 games is all that harsh.

  18. Justafan Says:

    The lady was up and out of her seat with her back turned less than 3 seconds after the horn?Either she really had to pee or she wasn’t interested in the game to begin with. Personally I couldn’t care less to what happens to people who show up for scour night or school national anthem night. I wish the team would take care if it’s season ticket holders and leave the 1 game a year crowd with the obnoxious kids and the aloof parents at home where it’s safe. Either keep your eye on the puck or don’t come to the game. Next time read the back of the ticket stupid.

  19. chiarams Says:

    Mike – Can I nominate this for the post of the year? I know it’s only January, but this has gotta be a strong candidate.

Leave a Reply

