Game 33: Pre-Game Notes

7:00 PM — Playing roster is…

Thomas, Miller, Vichorek, Leaderer, Pender, Watson

Kell, Zancanaro, Stoesz, Zajac, Ginand, Charleston, Hayes, Nagy, Akeson, Prough

6:40 PM — My goaltending hunch was correct…Peter Delmas makes his first ever ECHL appearance for Wheeling, while Shane Connelly mans the pipes for the Trenton.  I’ll have any late lineup info if I get it…

5:50 PM — For what it’s worth, Ben Street is back from the AHL for Wheeling.  So for those of you on the fence about buying a ticket to the game wondering if Ben Street will be here, you’re in luck.

3:45 PM — Surprise!  I said I wouldn’t be here, but the snow wasn’t really that bad…and despite the fact that I whine and moan and complain about being here sometimes, truth be told there’s really nowhere I’d rather be.  So I’m covering hockey, which I love to do.  Well, technically…I’m covering an empty, silent arena where the only sounds being made are by the arena crew cleaning off the seats…but you get the idea.

Anyway, not a whole lot I can tell you.  Shane Connelly will start for Trenton, and Anthony Felice is in the house as the emergency backup.  Patrick Killeen and Peter Delmas are the goaltending duo for Wheeling, and given that Delmas has yet to play since being sent down from Hamilton…I’d suspect he’s the guy tonight.  Defenseman David Urquhart was also sent down from the Bulldogs just today, and he’ll likely play and wear #14.

The Nailers do have two NHL’ers on their roster — just like the Jackals — as blueliner Sebastien Bisaillon played two games for the Edmonton Oilers in 2006-07. and Kris Vernarsky got into 17 games with the Boston Bruins during the 2002-03 and 2003-04 seasons.

I will still be here Friday and Saturday, but those will be Trentonian days.  Coverage-wise, I’ll be treating today like a newspaper day, too.  Essentially, this will be a working day off for me…so while I’ll be here in an official capacity, I’d rather actually be able to watch the whole game and take notes so I can better both understand what I’m watching and evaluate players.  But you already know that if you follow me on Twitter, where you also get the added bonus of seeing me post photos of myself consuming ridiculous beverages that no man should ever have.

On a side note…I think I’ll be getting to cover the Flyers in about a week, but I know for sure that I’ll be getting to cover the Sharks-Capitals game in Washington, DC on February 8 for an ECHL.com gig and have also been in talks with the Connecticut Whale to work their outdoor game later that month as part of a larger feature on ECHL’ers contributions to the season’s outdoor games.  I love what I do.  I don’t say that enough, but I love what I do, and I’m thankful both for my readers and for the opportunity to get to do it.

Sappy stuff aside, I’ll keep you guys updated up until the drop of the puck with whatever info I come across…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

15 Responses to “Game 33: Pre-Game Notes”

  1. Langhorne Devil Says:

    From warmups it looks like potacco, lombadi and kucharski make way for the returnees. So still short on D with coutu out

  2. Shtikl Says:

    Have a great game! How deep is the snow? How’s the crowd? Any word on Frazee and why he was scratched last night?

  3. Langhorne Devil Says:

    This is terrible. Wheeling are an awful side – but they are 2up and it could easily be 4 or 5.

    No shot for either side in first 4.55. Of the game. Trenon just look flat, no energy. Why do we never hit the puck first time, instead we wait for the defense to recover then hit it.

    Euuuuugh. I left my nice warm home for this!?

  4. tdevils Says:

    Snow isn’t bad at all here. We got maybe eight inches by my house, but around four here. Crowd is…what it usually is. No word on Frazzle Dazzle.

    I’ll try to have more on why Ginand and Hayes were broken up after the game…because I don’t understand.

  5. titans04 Says:

    Anybody want to go shovel it’s more fun.

  6. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Ugh.Yuck. Blech. And I’m not talking about the weather.

  7. Shtikl Says:

    We got between 18″ and 24″ of perfect snowblower fodder. We beat the storm home after the game in Worcester last night, I’m relieved the Albany Dweebles made it safely home. SO good to see them again, but many of the ex-Lowell fans present were wearing Sharks colors. 😦 I’m sorry this game is another clunker, but with such a short roster and without Caruso, and being the NJ Devils’ third string team, they need help. Of course if all 30 fans in the stands start chanting “Let’s go, Devils” both teams would probably fall down in shock, but maybe if you time it right and the opposing team’s goalie is laughing too hard to see straight, the puck might go in.

  8. Langhorne Devil Says:

    And yet it gets worse

  9. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Double Yuck.

  10. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Can’t string two passes together.
    Doing the Sam on O as they are on D rattling it along the boards and hoping someone else deals with it.
    Frankly, they look like thru can’t br ar$ed.

  11. titans04 Says:

    Talk about mailing it in. Garbage. Dean spent more time looking at his shoes than on the ice. Can’t blame him.

    The Hayes/Ginand thing makes no sense.

  12. Langhorne Devil Says:

    I’ve just looked around the crowd (and I use that term loosely). Nobody looks like they really want to be here

  13. titans04 Says:

    We sure didn’t that was by far and away the worst one we’ve sat through all season. From the goal on out it felt and looked like nobody came to play.

  14. Devil Dawg Says:

    Awful performance tonight. There are no other words. Very disappointed.

  15. trentondevilsfan Says:

    Yeah, that was just incredibly awful. They played like guys that had never played with each other before. Just awful.

Leave a Reply

