Believe

ORANGE, CA — How about that for a dateline?  I can’t believe it, but I’m covering tonight’s Tampa Bay Lightning-Anaheim Ducks game.  Really, I have a credential and everything.

The view from the Honda Center press box

As you all know, I was scheduled for a vacation.  Now, it’s a working vacation.  Through my new gig with ECHL.com, I’ve arranged to cover a few games while I’m out here as well.  This is just the fourth NHL game of my eight-year career, so know that it means a LOT for me to be here.  Just like every guy in that Trenton Devils locker room, my ultimate goal is to one day be up here full-time.

A special thanks to Alex Gilchrist of the Ducks for being so accommodating of such a last minute request.  And what was the request?  To speak with George Parros for an ECHL.com alumni feature.  I’ll be sure to annoy regale you with my tales from the road whenever I can…and stay tuned for my latest work on ECHL.com, which will also include a phone interview that the Kings were kind enough to set up with me with assistant coach Jamie Kompon, who played in the ECHL in its infancy.

Kompon, however, is of course best known for working with Vince Williams in the off-season.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

9 Responses to “Believe”

  1. titans04 Says:

    Too cool Mike enjoy it.

  2. chiarams Says:

    Sweet gig Mike – enjoy the west coast.

  3. Titans Says:

    Nice piece on Quick too…

  4. Roper Says:

    Great to work you’re working for the ECHL! Well deserved, Mike.

  5. red devil Says:

    Way to go Mike. Couldn’t happen to a more hard-working guy!

  6. Shtikl Says:

    So YOU make it to The Show at last! GRATS! And I see Millsy got his first NHL goal! So two work-their-@$$-off kinda guys live the dream! Yes, indeed, BELIEVE!

  7. Trentondevilsfan Says:

    Excellent!!

  8. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Ok mike you are going to have to go on holiday more often! More action in the first 9 mins than we have had all season!

  9. tdevils Says:

    Thanks for all the kind words, guys…always appreciate the support. Even managed to get a Trenton Devils story out of my San Jose trip.

Leave a Reply

