Game 6: Pre-Game Notes

6:45 PM — Carrozzi vs. Caruso is your goalie matchup.  Did not see Dan Charleston out there…did see Ryan Hayes and Matt Kang.  Wonder what’s going on with the scratch.

6:10 PM — Back from the land of pizza, where I can assure you I’m spending my time well.  Anyway, I’m heading down for warmups…I’ll have any lineup news shortly. 

4:05 PM — Well, it’s three hours before the drop of the puck and “Pretty Woman” by Roy Orbison is blaring over the sound system here for nobody inparticular.  Insert your own joke about the attendance here.

Anyway, the Dave Leaderer call-up is official…technically, he’s signed a PTO with Albany since he’s on an ECHL deal.

I’ll have any relevant news up until game time.  Haven’t entirely figured out what my coverage plan during the game will be.  I’m leaning towards just sitting back and watching…I’d like to get a better feel for this team, and that’s kind of difficult with my face buried in a keyboard for half the game.  That, and I leave for my vacation tomorrow morning and I’m kind of already in that mode…but I’ll have all the key quotes like usual after the game at the very least.

Kevin Dean already told us yesterday that Dave Caruso will be starting today for Trenton, and I’d suspect (see: hope) that it’ll be Atlanta Thrashers draft pick Chris Carrozzi between the pipes for Gwinnett.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

8 Responses to “Game 6: Pre-Game Notes”

  1. Trentondevilsfan Says:

    Good meeting you Mike.

    What was the deal with not scraping the ice for the shootout? Anyone know?

  2. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Lombardi the other scratch I think.

  3. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Tdf not scraping ice is an echl rule change this year.

  4. Trentondevilsfan Says:

    Interesting . Wonder why. The barn looks like last night, Not Good.

  5. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Not sure why they changed it. I thought crowd would be better tonight 😦

  6. Langhorne Devil Says:

    Ok I’ve seen everything. A kid dressed as a rubiks cube. Oh sh@& they have scored

  7. tdevils Says:

    Nice meeting you as well, Rich…and yes, the no pre-shootout scrape is an ECHL rule new for this season.

    Given how it was once memorably botched last season and the Zamboni driver was getting screamed at here in Trenton…and, I guess they just wanted to eliminate the hassle. But Caruso’s right, that’s a big advantage to the goalie.

  8. tdevils Says:

    From a September 23rd league press release…

    “The Board approved the elimination of the ice scrape prior to a shootout. If a game remains tied after the five-minute overtime period, it shall proceed directly to a shootout.”

Leave a Reply

