Lerg-ing In The Background

Continuing my self-promotion little run in The Trentonian, you can find a piece on former Michigan State goalie Jeff Lerg in today’s paper.

I went into a little more detail than I did on here about what kind of impact his impending arrival may have on either Gerald Coleman and/or Dave Caruso…and how Mike McKenna being put on waivers could have put a twist into those plans.  Check it out. 

After risking life and limb to go to last night’s New Jersey Devils game (I fully expect a “5,580 Club” pin to be mailed to my house) I will be back in Trenton for the T-Devs contest against Reading.  That’s the last game that I know I’m doing for the aforementioned Capital City based periodical…if you guys think I’ve done a good job for them, send them a quick message to let them know.  And, if you think my work sucks…hey, let them know that, too. 

Either way, I’d appreciate it.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

12 Responses to “Lerg-ing In The Background”

  1. chiarams Says:

    While I think we’d all agree that your work sucks, who exactly would be the best person to send a note saying so?

  2. chiarams Says:

    Mike – Sidenote – I think we’d all love to see an interview with someone at the ECHL offices about the longterm health of the league.

    Given that they’re down to three markets in the Southeast with no new territory to blaze, and the potential to lose at least one or two rust belt markets (Jingletown and Wheeling), one has to wonder how much longer a AA league with a national footprint can last.

  3. Shtikl Says:

    Would anybody in the ECHL offices give a frank and honest interview about the health of the league? Would you really want to hear the answers?

    BTW, McKenzie just reported that McKenna cleared waivers. So don’t fear losing Caruso to a callup just yet.

  4. chiarams Says:

    I can’t imagine they’d do much other than talk about how attendance is up, blah blah blah, and that everything is fine, but it’d still be interesting to see McKenna pay lip service to something that clearly is a major problem for the league.

    With no new AA-level arenas due to open any time soon, the long term outlook can’t be good.

  5. Shtikl Says:

    OT a little, but since he’s still a Devil, check out Mac’s article about gear.

    http://ingoalmag.com/gear/complete-guide-to-professional-goalies-gear-setup-and-customization/

    Don’t know about the ECHL, but the AHL is doing quite a shake-up right now. Won’t hear the fate of hockey in Albany until the end of the month, the club involved wants to postpone the announcement because it is “still trying to sell tickets”… Hmm, that doesn’t sound like Lowell, does it?

  6. tdevils Says:

    The Trentonian sports department is likely the best place to send anything like that…I’d imagine you can track down contact info on their site.

    As for the ECHL article…I would definitely do that, but I wonder how cooperative the league would be, given the nature of the piece.

  7. Hunterdon Cty Republican Says:

    Fine job, Mike….fine job, indeed.
    I left a blurb and even called Ed Note – tell the ‘tonian that they need to give callers more than 15 seconds to rant.

    Heheh.

  8. tdevils Says:

    Ha. Hey, I appreciate it…whether it’s me who knows or whether it’s the people paying me who know, feedback on my stuff has always been very important to me. I always try to make myself very accessible either at the arena, through e-mail or through comments, etc…but it’s nice to know what people think of the kind of job you’re doing.

    And I see what you did there with the user name. That paper did actually exist as a competitor to the Democrat when they started many, many, many years ago…

  9. Trentondevilsfan Says:

    What happened with McKenna in Lowell? Did he flame out after his strong start?

    Here’s hoping you get further gigs with the paper Mike.

  10. Shtikl Says:

    McKenna’s doing a nice tandem with Frazee. Hasn’t flamed out yet although his last two games weren’t his best IMO.

    I think this is the story on the waiver: Mac signed an AHL or AHL/ECHL contract at the start of the season. He earned the AHL starter job over Coleman when Frazee’s throat was cut (literally) during a pre-season scrimmage.

    I was worried that he’d be claimed off waivers, but it didn’t happen. Lou took a risk and this time it worked. Now McKenna’s signed to a two-way NHL/AHL contract and he’s available to work in the NHL if they need him. Guess Lou wanted to get it done before the feeding frenzy the first 2.5 days in March.

    If you’re a Twit, you could ask him 😉 http://twitter.com/MikeMcKenna56

  11. tdevils Says:

    Correct. McKenna was on an AHL deal and was signed to a two-way deal by the Devils…he had to clear waivers as a result of the deal and did. He’s actually played quite well and has earned his new deal. It also now means Frazee isn’t a lock to get the call if something happens to Brodeur or Danis.

    And thanks, TDF.

  12. Trentondevilsfan Says:

    Interesting, thanks for the catch-up there. I’d like to see Lerg play, hopefully we get to.

Leave a Reply

