Perkovich Talks About His Pro Debut

Nathan Perkovich, the Devils 8th round draft pick in 2004, spoke exclusively to the Inside the Trenton Devils blog about his pro debut in Saturday’s night ECHL playoff game against the Elmira Jackals.

Trenton Devils head coach Rick Kowalsky said he thought Perkovich looked a little nervous out there, but Perkovich said it didn’t take long for the butterflies to escape.

“I kind of got the jitters out in the first couple of shifts,” he told me.

“I tried to keep my feet moving and throwing checks.  I felt good after the first period.  I just kept trying to throw my body around, my big body.  I just tried to skate hard, you know.”

Kowalsky also told reporters after the game that Perkovich needs to the learn the system a little better and he’ll slide in comfortably.  I asked the big forward about that, and he said he’s been having some help from his new teammates in that regard.

“The guys were helping me out in practice this week,” he said.

“The coaches were there to help and showed me what I was doing wrong and what to do right.  Everyone’s been a really big help since I’ve been here.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

3 Responses to “Perkovich Talks About His Pro Debut”

  1. Tdevilsfan Says:

    Definitely an impressive debut. The size is needed against the clowns we’re playing.

  2. Al (Philly Devil) Says:

    I like how the Devils draft players and do not rush them, they let them mature in college or the Jr’s and then gradually bring them along. This is why the T Devs are crucial to myself (at least), I get to see Devs draft pick eventually, not all ..but some. Thank God for the T Devs. Back to Nathan, good to see him and when Akeson is well..after goon Elmira we can insert Nathan and Akeson (if healthy) into the line up. If Burton and Poli weren’t injured..DAMN IT. Oh well…we need to keep shotting and not let Riku get confortable. However, I don’t mena shotting by “wamr up shots.” We need shots from bad angles.

    Justine Cotu must be HUGE for us.

  3. Al (Philly Devil) Says:

    Opps sorry for the spelling crap at the end. I got exicted thinking of us actually beating this goon squad.

Leave a Reply

