Quick Update For Sunday

I will not be at the game tonight, instead choosing to watch the Rangers retire the jerseys of Andy Bathgate and Harry Howell…three jersey retirements in two days, not a bad weekend.

I will post Paul Roper’s press release either late tonight or at some point tomorrow, and will cover the game on Tuesday.

To briefly address something in the comments…to suggest in any, way shape or form that my coverage of this team or any event this team has is in any way biased because of the NHL team I follow is nothing short of ridiculous.  This is my seventh year as a sportswriter, and I know how to cover a team in a professional manner…this “job” is no different.

With that said, either the Rangers or Islanders moving their ECHL affiliates closer or the Flyers getting a nearby affiliate could be one of the best things that’s happened to the Trenton Devils franchise. 

I will also post my complete thoughts on Scott Bertoli Night on Monday…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

16 Responses to “Quick Update For Sunday”

  1. red devil Says:

    Lately the MSM has taken lots of hits for being biased. As a newcomer, Mike has seemed very objective in his coverage of this team. The one “bias” I have seen is his interest in goalies.

  2. Shtikl Says:

    How can anybody pay higher tribute to a sports franchise than to go to its home games and blog them the way you do? The only bias I see is that you want them to play well. Oh, and I agree, you’re a shameless goalie tramp, THANKS for all the awesome photos!

  3. Al (Philly Devil) Says:

    The post was directed at myself so I will respond. It is what it is, a story..a comment.. whatever has been written throughout history can be taken or viewed many ways. I enjoy the posts and I think it’s objective for the most part. I’m just thankful for this site at the end of the day, no matter who all of us root for. However, if someone is going to make a comment about a T Devs game not being “cool” to go to or an objection tp Devs decide to have Dano MC an event and it comes from a Rangers fan..then to me that’s what it I took out of these comments. So the answer is for other local NHL teams fans to mob the SBA to root against the Devils? Would it be great to see other NHL teams have close ECHL teams? Sure, I’d love to go support the T Devs in their rink as I know they would mine however that is not the answer. Things take time to develop and the T Devs will grow. I know through my work (which really takes shape starting next week with my plans and ideas) important seeds have finally been planted where they (always) needed to be. (I will not comment what’s going on any further.) Just know it takes time. Will ever be a sellout every night, no but neither was this “great myth” of the Titans (puh-leazzzeeee already. You loved your team..GREAT, their dead and gone now). The answer is patience and everytime there is a comment made in a negative respect, I’ll comment on it. I certainly respect Mike, but a the end of the day, in the words of Paul Stanley “I
    care about the people who pay for the tickets and albums, not the people who get it for free.”

    As far as the “goalie bias,” well I was a goalie for 17 years and still study the art. Myself and the author certainly differ on goalies we like, however I respect the Mike for his work. Mike is a nice guy, we differ..we love goalies, he loves goon hockey, I despise it. Yet I certainly think fighting is needed in the game. I don’t know why the pictures taken have to be protected though. However, when you make critical remarks about the T Devs or the fans that come , sometimes it will come back to that you are a Rangers fan. I met Mike, I like Mike but I can differ and if I take a certain view of an article or comment, it is what it is. No need for a post, but I take it as a compliment because I do know what I am talking about.

    Have fun with the Rangers ceremonies Mike, it should be really cool. The Rangers should’ve honored these guys a long time ago, just like the Habs with their heros. My friend Stan Fischler had some great comments and story telling onMSG.com this morning about the great Rangers being honored tonight, check them out.

    I did not see last night’s game, but from what was reported how Coleman reacted at the end of the game, he showed up his teammates and should be benched. It’s one thing to communicate with your teammates, talk about things, missed assignments, but you do it in the locker room, not on the ice (and if you do it on the ice its not in a “show up” type of way.) Slam your stick on the ice, okay fine. However to skate AROUND your teammates, if that is what he did, is shameful. That is not being a leader on the ice, it’s called showing up your teammates. The same teammates who, no matter what, had to score big time to save his ass. I don’t care if it’s a winning streak, against first place Wheeling, play Effy and send a message. Maybe GC can spend time practicing covering up simple rebounds and pucks that “roll” in on him because he does not look “in command” of his own crease. Yes, GC has been a major catalyst for the turnaround and he can be a respected leader, but the tantrums can be saved for the locker room. Hopefully T-Bone (Chris Terreri for NON NJD fans) gives him the riot act.

    At the end of the day, it is what it is..an opnion.

  4. titans04 Says:

    Simply clueless is my opinion.

  5. Al (Philly Devil) Says:

    Opps, forgot to say that me thinking a comment was biased via NHL team love is NOT “short of ridiculous.” However calling CG’s rebound control “Marty-esque” or Matty Cohen being compared to Colin White is a bit assinine or as bad as “Queen Nothing” and his glove hand.

    I learned something very early in life, don’t criticize or make a negative comment on someone or something if you can take the heat yourself.

  6. chiarams Says:

    “Will ever be a sellout every night, no but neither was this “great myth” of the Titans”

    I strongly suggest you look at the attendance history of the Trenton franchise before making such bogus claims.

    Even in their last season as the Titans, they averaged 3,500 with their smallest crowd at 2,200.

    This season, aside from Bertoli night (you know, that night where fans of the *dead* franchise came out), their largest crowd was 3,600.

    Keep planting those seeds. Hopefully you got them from the same guy who sold Jack his beanstalk seeds.

  7. TrentonPwnedFlorida Says:

    LOL these posts are great….

    First of all Chiarams….the attendance…was on a decline ever since the first year. The Devils ARE trying to market…I hear adverts on the radio during devils game…they had the commercial for Bertoli night on MSG during the game…Adverts online…at local movie theatres…

    The Devils have done more for the fans then the Flyers ever did. Did the Flyers ever give us free NHL tickets for a game? Did they ever show commercials during their broadcasts? Yea..I dont think so…

    The Devils buying the franchise may very well have ensured that the franchise STAYED in Trenton.

    Ok…enough of my rant…Al is completley crazy in his statements.
    1. Mike is in no way biased
    2. Titans04 + Chiarams….well they ARE biased…and I know they are rangers fans.
    3. Al you would realize how important the Titans were to the fans, if maybe you actually lived here or went to games.
    4. Im GLAD coleman was pissed…Id rather have a goalie who cares than a goalie…who well…acts like Jason Smith..and just didnt seem to give a hoot.

  8. chiarams Says:

    They can market until they’re blue in the face. People won’t support the Devils. I don’t get it either, but you can’t deny the truth that Central Jersey will not support a Devils team like they would an independent one.

    If this team were still the Trenton Titans and the Devils farm team, they’d at least be hovering around the 3,000-3,500 number as opposed to the 1,800-2,200 they draw night after night.

    And the only team I support are the ones in Rochester and Trenton. The NHL can kiss my ass since the lockout.

  9. Tdevilsfan Says:

    I still think they can make it a success here; I agree it will take time. But I think it can be done.

  10. JB Says:

    Maybe if they can go on a run deep into the playoffs this year and convince people that, even if they don’t like the name, the product will be good, they can get some fans back.

    It will never be like it was back in the franchise’s first few years, when they drew 6-7K EVERY night. Those days are never coming back. But if they can convince people that there is a good, compelling product to watch, you can get more people in than now.

  11. Tdevilsfan Says:

    It’s interesting to note that then next time the franchise posts an attendance gain over prior year it will be the first time….

  12. tdevils Says:

    Perhaps if attacks were not being made on the way I do my job, nothing would have needed to be said, leave it at that…

  13. chiarams Says:

    That’s why you get paid the big bucks Mike.

  14. thunderbaseball Says:

    If you knew how many times I’ve heard “at least you get paid” this season…

  15. Shtikl Says:

    Sorry if I ever said it. I know you’re “investing” your time and talents and getting nothing in return right now. THANKS for covering the team!

    I see it’s baseball season again, will there be any conflict when the T-Devils make the playoffs?

  16. tdevils Says:

    Depends on the ECHL scheduling…Thunder opening day is 4/8 and that’s the only day where a baseball game would win out over a T-Devils playoff game. I’ll miss any other game, just not Opening Day.

Leave a Reply

