Why You Should Buy A Ticket To Friday’s Game

I won’t be there.

I’ve covered all 11 home games, and have seen a grand total of four fights and three wins. Only one of the fights came at the hands of one of the true tough guys, Thomas Harrison, and the other three were of the “defensemen gone wild” variety.

So there will inevitably be some sort of ridiculous line brawl, and Trenton will score 15 goals.

The “Women Who Inexplicably Find Sportswriters Attractive” tour group will also fill a section of the arena as well, I’m sure.

Given the option to spend the day before I turn 26 at SBA and do actual work or go to The Rock in Newark and watch my favorite team play in their biggest rivalry — and be offered a free ticket to do so, no less — the choice seemed obvious.

And I’ll give you a hint, my favorite team’s name doesn’t rhyme with “Schmevils.”

So the “Home TV” booth in the press box will be empty for the first time this season, meaning that there will be two more pieces of lukewarm sausage pizza and several more cans of RC Cola and Snapple for everyone else. I’ve yet to sample an All Sport, but it would pretty much make my year if I were to get my hands on one of those.

Anyway, my rambling stupidity aside, this is where I’ll need you guys. If you guys have any photos you take from the game, or any videos and so forth, feel free to send them along and I’d be happy to post them. I’d also like your thoughts on how the game unfolded, so please feel free to use the comments or send me an e-mail with your thoughts.

I do expect to return for the back-to-back games against Reading the following weekend.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

5 Responses to “Why You Should Buy A Ticket To Friday’s Game”

  1. titans04 Says:

    let me be the first to admit I’m jealous.

  2. Al (PhillyDevil) Says:

    Won’t be at the game..Go Devils ..especially at the Rock!

  3. Tdevilsfan Says:

    Go Devils!

    We’ll know how the big boys are doing. When NJ is winning they announce the score; otherwise, eerie silence.

    Mike, what you’ll miss is a goalie fight! 🙂

  4. thunderbaseball Says:

    If I miss a goalie fight, I probably would shut it down for the rest of the season. I would be so unfathomably pissed off to sit through 11 games of relative fisticuff inactivity and find out I missed that.

    And I don’t know if it’s much to be jealous of…it was probably a much more difficult decision than I had thought it would be to decide to go to the NJD-NYR game. Much as I may disguise it, I am having fun covering the T-Devs.

  5. titans04 Says:

    Sgroi is back for Johnstown it’s always interesting watching our guys run away from him especially the defensemen when he comes across the blueline. Spense is on IR. Maybe just maybe there’s a chance we’ll actually see Kevin have his first at SBA.

Leave a Reply

